Red Bull
Air Race
Race results / championship standings Pilots and aircraft Lausitzring
2016 slideshow
2014 slideshow
RBAR links Red Bull

Last update:
06 December 2017

Red Bull Air Race

Race results and championship standings

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003

Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2018

Race calendar: The 2018 Red Bull Air Race World Championship will span eight races on four continents with 14 Master Class pilots competing. Master Class pilots comprise Cristian Bolton (CHI), Mikaël Brageot (FRA), Kirby Chambliss (USA), Matthias Dolderer (GER), Michael Goulian (USA), Matt Hall (AUS), Nicolas Ivanoff (FRA), Petr Kopfstein (CZE), François Le Vot (FRA), Pete McLeod (CAN), Yoshihide Muroya (JPN), Martin Šonka (CZE), Juan Velarde (SPA), as well as rookie Ben Murphy (UK) progressing from the Challenger Cup.
The Challenger Cup will see ten pilots flying the official race circuits on race day prior to the first round of the Master Class competition. The Challenger pilots comprise Mélanie Astles (FRA), Florian Bergér (GER), Kenny Chiang (CHI), Kevin Coleman (USA), Luke Czepiela (POL), Daniel Genevey (HUN), Ben Murphy (UK), Daniel Ryfa (SWE), and Baptiste Vignes (FRA). The two rookies Dario Costa (ITA) and Patrick Davidson (RSA) will complete the line-up.
Red Bull will provide standardised Zivko Edge 540 V2 planes for the Challenger Cup. The six pilots with the best scores from four races, counted after the penultimate race, will be invited to the season finale. The pilot with the best overall score at the season finale will be crowned the Challenger Cup champion.
Race format: Fastest time from two qualification runs defines ranking for race day. Seven winners of head-to-head races in the Round of 14 proceed to the next stage, plus the fastest loser. The Round of 8 again sees heats with the pilots being reseeded based on the times they clocked in the Round of 14. The fastest from the previous round races against the slowest, and so on. The four winners proceed to the Final 4 where they race against the clock. However, if both pilots in a heat do not post a valid time, another lucky loser will proceed to the next round based on clocked time. This rule change applies to Round of 14 as well as Round of 8. The Challenger Class race will take place before the Round of 14 contest.
Standard engines (Lycoming Thunderbolt AEIO-540-EXP), propellers (Hartzell composite 3-blade "The Claw") and exhaust systems to be employed by all pilots.
Pylons (air gates) are kept 25 m high for safety reasons. Knife edge flying through gates and the quadro gate remain removed from the race format.
Scoring: The winner on race day gets 15 points, the second 12 points, the third 9 points, the fourth 6 points, the fifth 5 points, down to one point for ninth place. However, any pilot collecting a DQ in any round will receive no points at all.
Penalties: 3 seconds each for the first two pylon hits in a run; 2 seconds for flying too high, as well as incorrect level flying; 1 second for missing smoke, for entry speed between 201 kn (372.3 km/h) and 201.99 kn (374.1 km/h), as well as for operational violations specific to a given race track. Pulling more than 10 g for more than 0.6 seconds (indicated via telemetry or post-flight analysis) will result in a 2-second penalty instead of a DNF. The general entry speed limit of 200 kn (370.4 km/h) may be reduced by the race committee to 180 kn (333.4 km/h) under certain circumstances.
Disqualification (DQ): Uncontrolled flying (e.g. closer than 10 m to the ground), third pylon hit in a run, crossing the safety line, pulling more than 12 g (Master Class) and 11 g (Challenger Class), respectively, indicated via telemetry or post-flight analysis, entry speed above 202 kn (374.1 km/h), engine RPM above limit (indicated via post-flight analysis), as well as missing the post-flight minimum weight of 698 kg (with a tolerance of -5 kg).
  Location Country Date flown Winner Aircraft Winner
        over Master Class   Challenger Class
[83] Abu Dhabi, Corniche United Arab Emirates 02-03 February 2018 water      
[84] Cannes France 21-22 April 2018 water      
[85] [Location TBA] [Europe] 26-27 May 2018 water      
[86] Budapest, Danube river Hungary 23-24 June 2018 water      
[87] [Location TBA] [Asia] 04-05 August 2018 water      
[88] Kazan, Kazanka river Russia 25-26 August 2018 water      
[89] Indianapolis, Motor Speedway United States of America 06-07 October 2018 land      
[90] [Location TBA] [Asia] November 2018 water      

Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2018
Rank Pilot Aircraft Races won Total points
Cristian Bolton  Chile CHI Zivko Edge 540 V2    
Mikaël Brageot  France FRA MXS-R    
Kirby Chambliss  USA USA Zivko Edge 540 V3    
Matthias Dolderer  Germany GER Zivko Edge 540 V3    
Mike Goulian  USA USA Zivko Edge 540 V2    
Matt Hall  Australia AUS Zivko Edge 540 V3    
Nicolas Ivanoff  France FRA Zivko Edge 540 V2    
Petr Kopfstein  Czech Republic CZE  Zivko Edge 540 V3    
François Le Vot  France FRA Zivko Edge 540 V3    
Pete McLeod  Canada CAN Zivko Edge 540 V3    
Yoshi Muroya  Japan JPN Zivko Edge 540 V3    
Ben Murphy  United Kingdom UK       
Martin Šonka  Czech Republic CZE Zivko Edge 540 V3    
Juan Velarde  Spain ESP Zivko Edge 540 V2    

RBAR Challenger Cup 2018
Rank Pilot Races won Total points Performance
Mélanie Astles  France FRA       
Florian Bergér  Germany GER       
Kenny Chiang  China CHI       
Kevin Coleman  USA USA       
Dario Costa  Italy ITA       
Luke Czepiela  Poland POL       
Patrick Davidson  South Africa RSA       
Daniel Genevey  Hungary HUN       
Daniel Ryfa  Sweden SWE       
Baptiste Vignes  France FRA       
  * Best of four season races will determine participation in the season finale; points from season finale will be added to season score to determine the CC title
 ** Percentage of points won from all attended races until season end